Time for Gardening – for health and wellbeing

cropped-muscari2-800-2.jpg

Love Spring when the first new shoots of growth emerge and the garden starts to wake up after the winter.  New beginnings are visible everywhere in the garden and it is also a good time to plan and start sowing seeds – depending on what you want to sow/grow and the time/temperature in your part of the country/world.

Gardening

Last weekend I sowed the first of the Cosmos seeds- as it is an annual tradition.  Last year I did this a bit late, so hoping this is better timed this year. Cosmos are brilliant flowers – with a long flowering time  and a magnet for bees and other pollinators.

cropped-cosmos-8001.jpg

There is lots of growth on the Alliums where buds are starting to emerge, so I am  looking forward to the display of Alliums throughout the garden this year. Here is Allium ‘Sensation’ from last year.

Allium2 700 & Watermark

My focus will be on ‘grow your own’ this year.  In addition to growing my own  flowers,  I am planning for summer – I have also sown tomato seeds along with peppers to grow in the greenhouse.  I am planning what I would like to plant so I planning my seed sowing times accordingly. Looking forward to an abundance of flowers and edibles this year.

Last week saw the return of BBC Gardeners World, so I am looking forward to tonight’s episode for horticultural inspiration.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment